Decision Time: long term STRETCH or long term TRANSITION????? (Part1)

OOOHHHH GOSH here I am on the fence again…. I really don’t know what my problem is? Lol … I never make a solid hair decision…  Now for those of you who are wondering what I am going about I’ll have you know that I have the biggest case of indecision when it comes to my hair… I’ve been texlaxing for almost a year now and I’m surprised I have even made it this far without changing my mind! Lol but I guess I cannot say that anymore because here I am!! Lol

Ok so my problem is that I am a lover of NATURAL HAIR. Everything about it! How it looks and feels etc  And I transitioned to natural over  a two year period from 2008-2010 HOWEVER … I have a super sensitive scalp so detangling and wash days when I was natural were the worst because of the pain. I sound like a baby but I’m really not, my scalp gets super sore! Any way you all know my hairstory, I texlax and even with texlaxed hair I struggle but here I am once more missing the feeling of my coily, kinky curls and I am yearning to be natural again!!! Especially now that I am so much more informed. (ps anyone who is natural or transitioning can testify that those little curls are addictive, your hands STAAAYYY in your hair.)

With all that said I’ve decided to embark on a long term stretch that could possibly turn into a long term transition, depending on how things go…You might now be wondering what the difference is since the hair experiences are pretty much the same….Well really, they are basically the same thing, just that:

  •  Stretching – is extending the period of time between relaxers. it’s done with the intention of relaxing at some point. stretches can be as short as 10weeks to as long as 52weeks!!
  • Transitioning– is cutting out the use of relaxer over an extended period of time with the intention of NOTrelaxing…EVER… and gradually cutting off processed hair to become fully natural.

Now don’t think for a second that this is easy.. I have been here before and let me tell you it’s no joke!! But it CAN AND WILL be done and in the healthiest way possible.. Below are just 2 of many things you can expect if you are doing either or. I will follow up with other posts because I wouldn’t want to bore you with a super long post right now. it’s Friday :-p

1) Breakage

Do you remember reading my post on the mark of demarcation? If not please do so because when you transition/ stretch there is nothing more live than breakage and that’s where all the action happens!! As a recap to what is –The texture difference between our relaxed hair and natural hair is so great and so the point at which the two meet (demarcation mark) is very weak and prone to breakage. So you will need to be very careful when managing your hair and limit the use of heat and excessive combing during these times. YOU WILL EXPERIENCE BREAKAGE so just get ready for it…. I’m already psyching myself out to not hit the freak out button. The aim though is to not let things get out of control. Stick with the same regimens and keep your hair as healthy as possible during transitions – but that’s a post for another day.
demarcation line
That’s a pic from my post of the demarcation point. So get reading. Difference in texture is very clear

 2) Multiple Textures

I’m lucky I get to manage 3 different textures during my stretch… Oh what fun (sigh) Not only do I have to worry about the health of my natural growth and fully processed hair. I also have to manage the texture and extra demarcation line with the texlaxed hair…Stress I tell you!! And every texture will be on the extremes. Extremely tough and kinky, or extremely straight and thin. So combing and styling is not easy. You may want to steer clear for a while and throw in a protective style.   Remember different types of hair have different needs so you need to be very mindful of that. You will find that wash days are the enemy when you are stretching… the thin relaxed hair all of a sudden looks  and feels so unhealthy and flimsy and it knots up every chance it get. Say hello to single strand knots and hour long detangling. A lot on caution and patience is needed on washdays as you can really damage your hair if you are not careful.

 

Don’t let all this stuff scare you I will post on tips for managing transitioning/stretch and how we can keep our hair healthy and reduce damage! All is not lost!!! Healthy hair is the number one priority…. Until next time

~XoXoXo~
K.

3 thoughts on “Decision Time: long term STRETCH or long term TRANSITION????? (Part1)

Leave a Reply

